Peanut Butter Jelly Time

Demented and sad, but social

“I’ve been a bad, bad girl.”

‘Member that song (that line was in the chorus; I believe the title of the song was Criminal)? By Fiona Apple? Whatever happened to her anyway?

Anyhow, I haven’t been blogging lately.  I’m not sure why, but there hasn’t been much to say, much to get out I suppose.

I mean, sure I can bitch and moan about my health and physical well-being, but what fun is that?  Who wants to hear that I’ve suffered through two weeks of horrid PMS?  Why is that different from any other month?  Who wants to hear that while my foot is healing nicely, I have (well had, actually) not one, not two, but four ingrown toenails in said foot?  Gross.  Nobody wants to read about that.  Who wants to read that I’ve had dental issues and that my mouth has been aching every fucking day now for two weeks and that all I can eat is soft food?  Whooptiefuckingdoo.

So yeah, that’s probably why I haven’t been blogging much.  Heh.  That and the fact that that’s really all that’s been going on.  A bunch of aches and pains, a bunch of nothing.

**************************************************************

CB and I have been talking more about babies. Ah, babies. ::smile::  We’ve already come to terms with (well *I’ve* come to terms with it as he’s realized it for a while) the fact that I’ll have to continue working after we have a baby.  A mini-us. ::smile::  I’ve been throwing around the idea of working part-time.

The problem *always* goes back to all of *my* debt.  Yes, we’re married.  But we’re also in our 30s and just newly married.  Sorry, but I do *not* believe my husband should be responsible for any debt I incurred prior to marriage (even though we were together for 7 years prior to marriage and a lot of that debt occurred during those 7 years).  It’s my debt; I need to pay it off. 

Sure he’ll help where he can, but he simply cannot afford to pay out a full rent, electricity, gas, phone, cable, food, etc plus *my* debt.  He can’t do it without help from me.

If only I could get that damn condo rented.

Anyhow, I got my W2 form.  Just moments ago.  And it’s sad.  No, actually it’s fucking pathetic.  I’m a 30-something college graduate and I make as much as the 20-something tool sitting around the corner from me.  Not fair, but it’s my own fault.  I simply didn’t apply myself.  I simply didn’t live my life (like my previous post talks about) before I hit my thirties; instead life just sort of happened.

Don’t get me wrong; the money I make is not something to look down at.  It’s not like I’m making minimum wage or anything.  I’m doing OK…. just not what I’m worth IMO.

Uck, I don’t know…

I like my job.  I’ve been here 5 years and I like it.  I like the people, the environment, the work and the benefits.  The only things I dislike, really, are the commute and the pay.  Do I really want to piss away 5 years of a good, steady job to chance making more money elsewhere?  What if I hate the environment or the people?  What if they won’t be flexible?  Fuck, I’d have to start ALL OVER AGAIN with my vacation and sick time.   Do I look for something FT or PT? 

The easy thing for me to do is to just stick it out where I’m at, where I’m comfortable, where I know I’ll have a job until I don’t want it anymore, where I know I can count on certain things to happen…. especially since I want a baby.  I would think that most places would require one to work for a certain amount of time (a year, I’m guessing) before getting maternity leave.  And let’s face it: I want a baby now.  I’m not sure how wise it would be to start looking for another job while trying to get pg.

Uck, I don’t know. I just want to be able to pay off my bills so that I can put everything into a child.  But I’m not sure if that option is in my cards right now.

One day at a time, eh… I think I’m at least going to start *looking* at what’s out there.  It can’t hurt to at least look, right?  Oh, and I should probably at least get that resume updated…

January 23, 2008 - Posted by | babies, bitching, blogging, boring, finances, health, life, love, marriage, thoughts, Uncategorized, whining, work | , , , , , ,

10 Comments »

  1. I would make sure to check into any company that you interview with about their insurance policies. A lot..of companies do not want to hire anyone who is thinking of getting pg..because of the time they need off..ect. With some companies they will consider a pregnancy a pre existing condition. Be extremely careful if you do decide to switch jobs. I understand that you want to put everything into your child hun, and you will. It needs love, it doesn’t care how much money you have. If we all waited untill we were financially secure..nobody would have kids. *hugs tight*

    Comment by Elfie33 | January 23, 2008

  2. Oh…I meant to add if you need help with your resume, I’d be glad to help. That’s what I do. Just let me know.

    Comment by Elfie33 | January 23, 2008

  3. Actually, you should get at least 12 weeks “unpaid” leave from FMLA no matter what your company policy is…that is assuming you meet the requirements of FMLA (if you work for a large company then you should be fine)…something I STRONGLY ADVISE to look into as well as for any state leave. A friend of mine worked for the County and when her Federal leave ran out she was fired the NEXT DAY…however…the State gave her an extra FOUR weeks (she didn’t know about that until she talked to a lawyer) so she sued and got a huge chunk of change to make up the difference (lets just say they were able to catch up on house payments as well as buy new cars, pay off bills, put cash away for college AND pay for a boob job!!!)

    Anyway, my point is when you get preg definately ask your employer what their maternity leave is, then check to make sure you qualify for FMLA, and then check your state rules to see if they are different from federal. You also may be able to get temperary disability (that’s what you get where I live)so you at least get paid a little something while you are out of work.

    Comment by Sandy | January 23, 2008

  4. I thnk you have to work some where for a full year to qualify for FMLA. at least that is the rule here in NJ. Trust me I know the rules working here in the crazy law firm!

    Comment by lululeelee | January 23, 2008

  5. I’d stay right where I was at if I were you, as long as you are trying to get pregnant. You are very right…starting ALL over at a new place of employment(with vacation & benefits & stuff, not to mention the comfortable routine you’ve probably established there) is a real pain. It will probably put un-needed stress on you, too and you don’t need that cr@p if you are pregnant or trying to get pregnant.

    Focus on one major life happening at a time 🙂 You know you’ll be alright.

    Comment by Cheetah14 | January 24, 2008

  6. I love leaving jobs and starting new ones! I say go for it! Although — maybe it is best to wait in your circumstance, ya know? Keep the bennies you know and love, then when all is new in your home life, why not go for a complete overhaul? :0)
    Miss ya!!!

    Comment by Anonymous | January 29, 2008

  7. oops, that was by me! Kristy~! haha

    Comment by Kdawg | January 29, 2008

  8. It’s always good to look. Heeheee. Yes, if you want to get pg it may be good to wait it out. But after the baby you can totally get a new gig.

    Missed you!

    Comment by Janey | January 30, 2008

  9. P.S. I heart Fiona Apple

    Comment by Janey | January 30, 2008

  10. Where are you? We are worried over in here in blog land? are you off making babies?

    Comment by lululeelee | February 1, 2008


Leave a comment